Home » Uncategorized » Angels of the Sea

Angels of the Sea

Whales are creatures of the ocean,
Teachers of gentle motion,
That allow us to see,
The meaning of “being free”,
For they are the angels of the sea.

14-10-15 Another week, another rotation, and a week closer to the final exam of emergency medicine. I usually find starting a new rotation is stressful because at the beginning it’s hard to know all the ‘ins and outs’ of the job. This week was no exception, except I was blessed by being supported by some wonderful colleagues, especially my intern Kate who had such a positive outlook on medicine and life in general!

After feeling so tired from the week just gone, spending extra hours studying for my emeregency medicine fellowship exam which I will sit in February 2016, I decided to catch up on sleep and skip the opportunity of a morning surf. Instead, Sanna and I decided to go to our favourite café in Thirroul to have a coffee and do some study. However, before sitting I felt a strong calling to first go for a ‘nature break’. As far as my logical mind could reconcile, this venture was going to be a walk to the ocean, for the purpose of gaining some inspiration before going back to practicing exam questions.

When walking down to the Thirroul beach I saw that familiar splash in the distant ocean that always makes me think “is that a whale?”. My knee-jerk reaction was to say to Sanna “Hey I think I just saw a whale! Did you see it?”. She usually discounts such suggestions because I forever seem to be saying, “hey I think I just saw a whale!?”. Sanna has grown to be slightly dismissive about these suggesions, but the great majority of times that I’ve suggested this it has turned out to be correct. I keep seeing them and they keep appearing in my life. Today was a case in point.

When we got down to beach front, I went straight to edgy and we could clearly see at least two maginificent playful whales periodically jumping out of the water creating quite a splash. It was an amazing scene to encounter. No matter how far away, or close, one is to a whale in the wild, it is a magnificent thing to be around them. Interestingly the previous night I had a beautiful dream where I saw a humpback whale jumping out of the ocean in full breach. I had forgotten about this dream – but it seemed to have come true~!

IMG_6916

One thought on “Angels of the Sea

  1. Agree – no matter what your proximity to a whale as is goes by, one can’t help but feel awed. I live on this side of the Pacific and we see some spectacular activity just offshore. 👍🏽

Leave a Reply

