Home » Uncategorized » The whale inside

The whale inside

The whale is inside,
Please don’t let it hide,

For you are destined for the ocean,
This magic potion that keeps us alive,

Energy is why we thrive.

So do not waste time on what matters least.
Instead have a feast,

On what you know to be true.

Endure the pain,

For soon will come the rain,
Washing you to shore,

And once more you will rise,
When we finally realise,

That love is the only prize.

8-7-16.

Last night I had a dream about whales playing in the ocean.

I have a special connection with whales ever since a close encounter that I had with them 3 years back.

I met someone randomly at the gym a few days ago. As I entered the room he came up to me and asked me about my experience on that fateful Sunday when I was knocked out by one of the most majestic marine mammals to roam the planet.

This person went on to tell me about his own amazing encounter with whales whilst surfing only a week back. He was just surfing by Stanwell Park, in the Illawarra when he was surrounded by a whole heard of whales, curious and interactive.

My new found friend and I seemed to connect on many levels. It was refreshing to meet someone like this, who was incidentally a masters student in Medical Philosophy, doing some fascinating research, because we seemed to be invigorated by a discussion about the bigger picture that often seems to be lost on so many who are caught up on the rat race of life.

Perhaps only those who are truly open to the great majesty and force of nature will be even close to expressing how beautiful it is to behold. This is something we both could relate to, and it wasn’t just about an experiment with whales, it was more about recognizing the gift of nature that is there every moment we are aware.

“In the stillness of a single moment of nature doth the power lie”

I never really know what the purpose of the whale’s message was, but perhaps if we love ourselves enough, we can find a part of their wisdom within us.

 

Leave a Reply

